Durga Puja Mahalaya 2017 Date And Time

Durga Puja Mahalaya 2017

Mahalaya 2017 date is September 19, Tuesday. Mahalaya name in other languages is Bengali language in Pitri Paksha (পিতৃপক্ষ), Bengali language in Mohalaya (মহালয়া), English language in Mahalaya and German language in Mahalaya.

Pitru Paksha 2017 in Kolkata, West Bengal will begin on Tuesday, 5 September and ends on Tuesday, 19 September

About Mahalaya: Mahalaya is an auspicious occasion observed seven days before the Durga Puja, and heralds the advent of Durga, the goddess of supreme power. It’s a kind of invocation or invitation to the mother goddess to descend on earth – “Jago Tumi Jago”. This is done through the chanting of mantras and singing devotional songs.

Malayalam 2017 Date Time

Since the early 1930s, Mahalaya has come to associate itself with an early morning radio program called “Mahisasura Mardini” or “The Annihilation of the Demon.” This All India Radio (AIR) program is a beautiful audio montage of recitation from the scriptural verses of “Chandi Kavya”, Bengali devotional songs, classical music and a dash of acoustic melodrama. The program has also been translated into Hindi set to similar orchestration and is broadcast at the same time for a pan-Indian audience.

Durga Puja Mahalaya 2017 Date And Time in India – दुर्गा पूजा महालया 2017

Mahalaya date & time, Mahalaya Puja Schedule

Name of Festival Day Date
Mahalaya Tuesday 19th  September 2017

Find When is Durga Puja in 2017. Durga Puja 2017 dates in East, North India and 2017 Durga Puja Date in West Bengal (Kolkata). 2017 Durga Puja calendar showing the 2017 Shardiya Navratri dates. दुर्गा पूजा महालया 2017, दुर्गापुजा महालया

Durga Puja Mahalaya 2017 Date And Time as follows:

05 September (Tuesday) Purnima Shraddha
06 September (Wednesday) Pratipada Shraddha
07 September (Thursday) Dwitiya Shraddha
08 September (Friday) Tritiya Shraddha
09 September (Saturday) Chaturthi Shraddha
10 September (Sunday) Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
11 September (Monday) Shashthi Shraddha
12 September (Tuesday) Saptami Shraddha, Ashtami Shraddha
13 September (Wednesday) Navami Shraddha
14 September (Thursday) Dashami Shraddha
15 September (Friday) Ekadashi Shraddha
16 September (Saturday) Dwadashi Shraddha
17 September (Sunday) Magha Shraddha, Trayodashi Shraddha
18 September (Monday) Chaturdashi Shraddha
19 September (Tuesday) Sarva Pitru Amavasya

The last day of Pitru Paksha or Pitri Paksha is known as Sarvapitri Amavasya or Mahalaya amavasya. Mahalaya amavasya is the most significant day of Pitru Paksha.

Pitri Paksha is a 15 lunar day’s period when Hindus pay homage to their ancestors, especially through food offerings.

According to South Indian Amavasyant calendar it falls in the lunar month of Bhadrapada beginning with the full moon day or day after full moon day.

According to Indian Purnimant calendar this period falls in the lunar month of Ashwin beginning with the full moon day in Bhadrapada or next day of full moon day.

It is just nomenclature of lunar months which differs and both North Indians, East Indians and South Indians perform Shraddha ritual on similar days.